ARTISTIC DIRECTOR

 

Joshua Weilerstein is the Artistic Director of the Orchestre de Chambre de Lausanne. His clarity of musical expression, unforced manner and deep natural musicianship has led to invitations to conduct extensively in both Europe and in America. His enthusiasm for a wide range of repertoire is combined with an ambition to bring new audiences into the concert hall.

Joshua Weilerstein has developed a number of strong musical relationships as guest conductor, for example, the BBC Symphony Orchestra, the Netherlands Philharmonic, Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France and the Orchestre National de Lyon, Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra, Danish National Symphony Orchestra, Royal Stockholm Philharmonic, Swedish Chamber Orchestra, Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, NDR Hannover, Deutsche Radio Philharmonie and the Verbier Festival.  In the 2016 festival, Weilerstein conducted Don Giovanni and stepped in a short notice to conduct the Verbier Festival Chamber Orchestra and soloists Joshua Bell and George Li.  He returns to the Festival for two concerts in July ’17.

In recent seasons, Joshua Weilerstein has also appeared with the Rotterdam Philharmonic, SWR Stuttgart, Mahler Chamber Orchestra, and Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra.  In October 2016, Weilerstein made his debut with the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra in family concerts and in the same week, assisted Mariss Jansons. In the 2017/18 season Weilerstein will make his debut with the BBC Philharmonic and the Bamberg Symphony.

Joshua Weilerstein believes passionately in programming both traditional and contemporary repertoire and, whenever possible, includes a piece by a living composer in each of his programmes. He also cherishes the value of music education wherever the opportunity arises, He was heavily involved in Young People’s Concerts during his time as the Assistant Conductor with the New York Philharmonic, and served as Concertmaster of Discovery Ensemble, a Boston-based chamber orchestra dedicated to presenting classical music to inner-city schools in Boston.

Joshua Weilerstein feels that it is essential to have an open communication between the stage and audience and is always excited to hear from musicians and audiences alike. He is accessible on social media for conversation about the future of classical music, programming, and the experience of concert-going.

 

www.intermusica.co.uk/weilerstein

icon_twitter icon_fb

DIRECTEUR ARTISTIQUE

 

Directeur artistique de l’Orchestre de Chambre de Lausanne, Joshua Weilerstein est de plus en plus demandé en Europe et aux Etats-Unis. Grâce à des programmes variés et à un très large répertoire, Joshua Weilerstein souhaite encourager un nouveau public à franchir la porte des salles de concert.

En tant que chef invité, Joshua Weilerstein a développé un grand nombre de collaborations musicales solides avec, par exemple, le BBC Symphony Orchestra, le Netherlands Philharmonic, l’Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, l’Orchestre National de Lyon, l’Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra, le Danish National Symphony Orchestra, le Royal Stockholm Philharmonic, le Swedish Chamber Orchestra, la Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen,  le NDR Orchester Hannover, la Deutsche Radio Philharmonie et le Verbier Festival. Lors de l’édition 2016 de ce dernier, Joshua Weilerstein a dirigé Don Giovanni et remplacé Emmanuel Krivine au pied levé, avec le Verbier Festival Chamber Orchestra et les solistes Joshua Bell et George Li. Il était de retour à Verbier pour deux concerts en juillet 2017.

Ces dernières saisons, Joshua Weilerstein est également apparu aux côtés du Rotterdam Philharmonic, du SWR Stuttgart, du Mahler Chamber Orchestra et du Royal Liverpool Philharmonic. En octobre 2016, il a fait ses débuts avec le Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra et a, la même semaine, assisté Mariss Jansons. Lors de la saison 2017-2018, Joshua Weilerstein dirige pour la première fois le BBC Philharmonic et le Bamberger Symphoniker.

Joshua Weilerstein croit passionnément à l’idée de programmer aussi bien des œuvres du répertoire traditionnel que du contemporain. Il s’engage à présenter, aussi souvent que possible, une pièce d’un compositeur vivant dans chacun de ses programmes. Il valorise également l’éducation musicale à chaque fois que l’occasion se présente. Il s’est beaucoup impliqué dans les concerts pour jeune public pendant ses années en tant que chef assistant au New York Philharmonic. Il a aussi été premier violon solo du Discovery Ensemble, un orchestre de chambre de Boston dédié à présenter la musique classique aux écoles de la ville.

Joshua Weilerstein pense qu’il est essentiel qu’une bonne communication existe entre la scène et l’audience et aime échanger aussi bien avec les musiciens qu’avec son public. Il est accessible sur les réseaux sociaux pour discuter du futur de la musique classique, de la programmation ou encore de l’expérience du concert.

 

 

www.intermusica.co.uk/weilerstein

icon_twitter icon_fb